THE HAND OF SOD

Friends Of Liverpool

Last night’s dramatic play-off between Ireland and France which ended in disgrace for Thierry Henry who twice handled the ball in the box to set up Gallas to score a very controversial goal in extra-time to send Ireland out of the World Cup and France to shamefully go through.
The FAI have lodged an appeal to FIFA to have the game replayed but it has fallen on deaf ears.
FIFA have invoked their Rule Five which states that any incident that occurs in a football game is decided by the referee and his decision is final.
Henry has himself admitted that he did indeed handle the ball, saying “I’ll be honest, it was handball.”
Gerard Houllier and other figures in the French FA also agreed it was handball, but they all know that FIFA won’t do anything about it.
France are going to The World Cup and brave Ireland are not.